Friday, December 9, 2022

Latest Posts

Which EU politicians refused to label Russia a sponsor of terror?

Many on the far right and some on the left opposed the symbolic step of declaring Moscow a terror regime.

The European Parliament on Wednesday adopted a resolution declaring Russia a state “sponsor of terrorism” over its war in Ukraine.

“The deliberate attacks and atrocities by Russian forces and their proxies against civilians in Ukraine, the destruction of civilian infrastructure and other serious violations of international and humanitarian law amount to acts of terrorism and constitute war crimes,” the European Parliament said.

A total of 494 Members of the European Parliament (MEPS) voted in favor of the resolution, 58 opposed and 44 abstained.

INTERACTIVE-EP Vote on State Sponsored Terrorism by Russia

The largely symbolic move is unlikely to have any effect because the European Union – unlike the United States – does not have the legal framework to name countries. Across the Atlantic, the US list includes North Korea, Syria, Cuba and Iran.

The EU created its terror list in 2001 after the 9/11 attacks in New York.

It includes individuals, groups and entities and is reviewed at least every six months.

ISIL (ISIS) and al-Qaeda armed groups are among those currently on the list.

Russia is the first country to be declared a state sponsor of terrorism by the European Parliament.

Members did not vote unanimously, however, with a larger section of parliament’s right-wing bloc opposing Russia’s link to terrorism.

26 members of the far-right political group Identity and Democracy voted against calling Russia a sponsor of terrorism.

INTERACTIVE – Vote in the European Parliament on designating Russia as a terrorist state

Here is a breakdown of votes by country, home country party and member:

Those French politicians who voted against the resolution are all members of the National Rally or Rassemblement National led by Marine Le Pen.

The following German politicians who voted against the resolution are all members of the far-right Alternative for Germany or the Alternative for Germany (AfD) party.

Czech MPs who are members of the populist party Freedom and Direct Democracy or Freedom and Direct Democracy:

A member of the centre-right European Conservatives and Reformists group voted against the resolution:

Twelve members of the centre-left Progressive Alliance of Socialists and Democrats voted against the resolution.

From Bulgaria – all with the centre-left Bulgarian Socialist Party:

From Germany – all with the Social Democratic Party of Germany or the Social Democratic Party of Germany (SPD), which is the party of Chancellor Olaf Scholz:

Latest Posts

Don't Miss